Four Corners global view (Map data ©2021 Google INEGI, SK telecom)
Four Corners global view (Map data ©2021 Google INEGI, SK telecom).

The Four Corners is a region of the Southwestern United States consisting of the …

southwestern corner of Colorado,

southeastern corner of Utah,

northeastern corner of Arizona, and

northwestern corner of New Mexico.

The Four Corners area is named after the quadripoint at the intersection of approximately 37° north latitude with 109° 03′ west longitude, where the boundaries of the four states meet, and are marked by the Four Corners Monument.

Four Corners Monument (Imagery 2021 Google Map data 2021)
Four Corners Monument (Imagery 2021 Google Map data 2021).

Four Corner is the only location in the United States where four states meet. Most of the Four Corners region belongs to semi-autonomous Native American nations, the largest of which is the Navajo Nation, followed by Hopi, Ute, and Zuni tribal reserves and nations.

The Four Corners region is part of a larger region known as the Colorado Plateau and is mostly rural, rugged, and arid. In addition to the monument, commonly visited areas within Four Corners include Monument Valley, Mesa Verde National Park, Chaco Canyon, Canyons of the Ancients National Monument and Canyon de Chelly National Monument.

The most populous city in the Four Corners region is Farmington, New Mexico, followed by Durango, Colorado.

The Four Corners Monument is located at 36°59′56.3″N 109°02′42.6″

The Four Corners is part of the high Colorado Plateau, and is known origin for weather systems, which stabilize on the plateau then proceed eastward through Colorado and into the central states. The weather system creates snow and rain fall throughout the central United States.

Federally protected areas in the Four Corners area include …

Canyon de Chelly National Monument,

Hovenweep National Monument,

Mesa Verde National Park, and

Canyons of the Ancients National Monument.

Mountain Ranges in the Four Corners include Sleeping Ute Mountains, Abajo Mountains, and the Chuska Mountains.